Cyprus Post: Department of Postal Services, Cyprus
You are here: Home \ Cyprus Post

The Department of Postal Services (Cyprus Post) falls under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Communications and Works and is governed by the Postal Laws, Chapter 303, and the Regulation of Electronic Communications and Postal Services Law of 2004 to 2013, which is fully harmonised with the relevant European directives for the provision of postal services (97/67/EC, 2002/39/EC and 2008/6/EC).

The Cyprus Post employs 660 persons on a permanent basis. In accordance with the relevant legislation, Cyprus Post, as the Universal Service Provider,has the responsibility for providing postal services of a specified quality, 5 days a week throughout the Republic at uniform and affordable prices, whilst respecting society and the environment.

Citizens and business, both in urban and rural areas, are served through a well-organised postal network comprising 54 Post Offices, 1026 postal agencies, 1000 mail collection boxes and 32.000 Private Post Boxes, offering a wide range of postal and financial services.

The international financial crisis and recession had an adverse effect on Cyprus Post, which, under the difficult economic conditions created, has to face the great challenges resulting from the liberalisation of the postal market as from the 1st January 2013 and the extensive electronic substitution of traditional letter mail. Despite this negative environment, Cyprus Post aims to retain its leading role, offering high quality, reliable and attractive services focusing on customer loyalty.